What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger..

As I have mentioned in previous posts music plays a massive part in both mine and Isabella’s lives. I have always listened to song lyrics in the past and thought that song could be about me or my husband and I. It’s probably a girl thing, as my husband Paul can be singing along to a song and know all of the words and I say something like, ‘Ah that song could be about us!’ He will just stare at me blankly and say ‘ Really? I Don’t know what it is about!’ I don’t understand how that is possible when he sings all the words!

That however is the thing with music, some people just get pleasure from listening to it, others like myself get pleasure form listening, but are also moved by the power of the words and can really relate to them and sometimes find comfort in them. Music is like therapy for me, just like when I write my blogs. I feel good letting it all out. The words tumbling out of my head and onto paper (so to speak) help me organise my thoughts and feelings and make room inside my head for more.

The same can be said when I sing. I let it all out and put all my feelings into my singing, I am no Beyoncé believe me! If I have had a crappy phone call, an obvious stare, a typical maxim or just one of those days where nothing is going right I channel all my energies into singing. Now don’t get me wrong I don’t just start impromptu singing, I just sing extra loud when music is playing; this usually happens when we are in the car. Like I mentioned in the post >ive-got-the-music-in-me<  Isabella listens to wide variety of music. So in the car we chop and change between Isabella’s music and regular chart music.

At the moment we are listening to Kelly Clarkson’s new album. This has some extremely powerful and appropriate songs on it. My favourite has to be ‘What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger.’ Isabella and I love the intro. It has lots of loud guitar strumming, which gets us both excited and both our bodies moving; My head nodding to the beat and Isabella’s arms and legs outstretched and bouncing excitedly. When the powerful lyrics kick in both Isabella and I get going vocally. Isabella screaming happily and me giving the song my all. The ‘all’ being the crappy phone call, the obvious stare or the typical maxim.

Singing the main chorus of this particular song out loud makes me feel better and the words are certainly fitting;

What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger,

 Stand a little taller

Doesn’t mean I’m lonely when I’m alone

What doesn’t kill you makes a fighter

 Footsteps even lighter

I really do find comfort in the lyrics. I do believe that given everything that we have had to deal with up to now, I am most certainly stronger and most definately a fighter…

4 thoughts on “What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger..

  1. Tracey’s neighbours can combat her “shower singing” by calling the Noise Abatement Society on 01273 823 850!!!

  2. Nice blog,but you know you not alone!!! Keep listening to your tunes,I do too and I’ll be thinking of you and Izzy!!! Big hugs and kisses xxxx

  3. Are we twins separated at birth? Love it!! Music is certainly therapy (check out Music is the Doctor…first post on the blog) and free (well, free-ish…iTunes gets paid but it’s cheaper than proper therapy) so roll down those windows, blast those speakers and let ‘er rip!

Leave a Reply

